Success for our Fiona Anderson at The Scottish Legal Awards 2019!


Paralegal of the Year Winner – Fiona Anderson, MacPhee & Partners

The best performing individuals, teams and firms in the Scottish legal profession were revealed at the national awards celebration for lawyers held in Glasgow last night. 520 guests celebrated at the 16th annual Scottish Legal Awards following a record high volume of entries in the competition’s history.

The ultimate award of the night, Firm of the Year was presented to Digby Brown after the judging panel praised the firm’s continued success and impressive results. They were joined in celebration by Dundee-based Blackadders who collected two awards including Managing Partner of the Year presented to Johnston Clark for delivering a three-year growth strategy for the firm.

The Lifetime Achievement Award, sponsored by The Times was presented to Professor Lorne Crerar, Chairman and co-founding partner of Harper Macleod for his thirty year career at the forefront of Scottish law. He has served as an independent adviser to a number of public sector bodies and as Chairman of Highlands and Islands Enterprise. He has been Professor Emeritus of Law at Glasgow University since 2015. Accepting the award, Professor Crerar commented; “I am truly honoured to receive this award and would like to thank the judging panel for deeming me worthy of joining such an esteemed list of recipients. It has been my good fortune to find a career that I love and through which I have had so many opportunities open before me. I have also been very fortunate to work with great clients and many brilliant colleagues in law, in sport and in all my other roles without whom any achievements of mine could not have been realised. To this day I am as passionate about Scots law and the Scottish legal profession as ever and on evenings such as this see every reason why it will have a very bright future.”

25 awards were presented on the night to individuals and teams. The highly regarded Lawyer of the Year Award was presented to Jill Sinclair from DWF as head of the Counter Fraud Team, a new department created three years ago. Her work has made significant impact. Other winners on the night included Glasgow-based firm Livingstone Brown who collected team awards for their work in the areas of family law and criminal defence, whilst the competition’s new in-house legal team awards were presented to the Royal Bank of Scotland (commercial) and The City of Edinburgh Council’s Legal Services division (public sector). The in-house lawyer of the year was awarded to joint winners Maree Allison from the Scottish Social Services Council, based in Dundee and Kenny Robertson from Royal Bank of Scotland. The independent programme is presided over by a large expert judging panel, chaired by Shonaig Macpherson. She commented; “The Scottish legal system is one of the best in the world. We have outstanding lawyers, innovative businesses and very many successful firms. The Scottish Legal Awards serve as an annual reminder of the achievements of the year for all of the finalists. We are delighted to be highlighting the excellence that occurs every day. I extend my congratulations to all the finalists and winners and encourage them to take time to celebrate their achievements.” The awards are operated in support of It’s Good 2 Give and LawScot Foundation.

The Winners in full

Paralegal of the Year sponsored by Millar & Bryce
Winner: Fiona Anderson, MacPhee and Partners
• Donna Clark, Macleod & MacCallum
• Bilaal Shabbir, MBS Solicitors

Firm of the Year sponsored by iManage
Winner: Digby Brown
• Dentons
• MBM Commercial
• Shepherd and Wedderburn
• Thompsons Solicitors

Lifetime Achievement Award sponsored by The Times
Winner: Professor Lorne Crerar
Managing Partner of the Year sponsored by Scott + Co.
Winner: Johnston Clark, Blackadders

Lawyer of the Year sponsored by Law Society of Scotland
Winner: Jill Sinclair, DWF
• Aamer Anwar, Aamer Anwar & Co
• Stephen Trombala, Shepherd and Wedderburn

In-House Lawyer of the Year
Winner (Public Sector): Maree Allison, Scottish Social Services Council
Winner (Commercial): Kenny Robertson, Royal Bank of Scotland
• Jane Valentine, Wheatley Group

Commercial Property Team of the Year sponsored by Property Searches Scotland
Winner: CMS
• Blackadders
• Shoosmiths
• Wheatley Group

Community Contribution Award sponsored by Frasia Wright Associates
Joint Winner: Digby Brown
Joint Winner: Scullion LAW
• Faculty of Advocates
• Families Need Fathers Scotland: Both Parents Matter
• Glasgow Caledonian University Law Clinic
• Macnabs
• University of Strathclyde Mediation Clinic

Corporate and Commercial Team of the Year
Winner: Shepherd and Wedderburn
• Dentons

Criminal Defence Firm of the Year
Winner: Livingstone Brown
• Aamer Anwar & Co
• Beltrami & Co
• Martin Johnston and Socha

Employment Team of the Year
Winner: Blackadders
• Clyde & Co

Family Law Team of the Year
Winner: Livingstone Brown
• Elizabeth Welsh Family Law Practice
• Gilson Gray
• Macleod & MacCallum

Commercial In-House Legal Team of the Year
Winner: Royal Bank of Scotland
Highly commended: Edrington
• Skyscanner
• The Weir Group
• Wheatley Group

Public Sector In-House Legal Team of the Year
Winner: The City of Edinburgh Council – Legal Services Division
• Scottish Social Services Council
• University of Strathclyde Mediation Clinic

Legal Technology Award sponsored by Eclipse Legal Systems
Winner: DWF
• Amiqus Resolution
• Blackadders – Blackadders Employment Team
• Millar & Bryce and DUAL Asset Underwriting
• Nalytics
• Property Searches Scotland
• Registers of Scotland – The Digital Discharge Service
• SnapDragon Monitoring

Litigation Team of the Year sponsored by insight6
Winner: Allan McDougall Solicitors
Highly Commended: Shoosmiths
• Clyde & Co
• Dentons
• Digby Brown Solicitors
• Halliday Campbell

Residential Property Team of the Year sponsored by Property Searches Scotland
Winner: Coulters
• Innes & Mackay Limited
• McDougall McQueen
• Neilsons Solicitors and Estate Agents

Rising Star of the Year sponsored by Scottish Building Society
Winner: Jamie Apted, MBM Commercial
Highly Commended: Amy Mackenzie, Harper Macleod
Highly Commended: Shawn Wood, Watermans Legal
• Kelly Fraser, Harper Macleod
• Emma Guthrie, Shepherd and Wedderburn

Support Team of the Year sponsored by Wolffe
Winner: ESPC
• Millar & Bryce
• Moore Legal Technology
• Property Searches Scotland